�

Glenn Reynolds Says

"Gon' git me some KY and do me some GOB's!"
DiaryLand.com Mail This Note THIS older entries

Sign in blood, my Notify List
and unleash the Slugs of War.:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


2004-02-02 - 10:05 a.m.

So Long, Fucko's.

Y�ever heard the saying, �all good things must come to a close?� Welp, I don�t know if a person might consider this endeavour, these last five months and 190 entries as �good things,� but it�s definitely time to close shop and move on.

This is where I explain a little, so it�s like this:

Recently I started posting the story I�ve been writing (reads like a fairy tale for adults, fuckwits), something I�ve never done before�and that fact that I was posting an incomplete thought really got up my fucking ass like a Scot with a sheep. But to top it all off I woke up one afternoon and saw that, in an Xstatic splendor, I�d asked for fucking opinions at some point.

I�ve never asked peoples opinions about my writing. EVER. But don�t for a fucking second think a handfulla �it�s pretty crap(py)� typed reviews is the reason I�m Setting the Son. Read back a couple entries past the story. I�ll be fucked with a corn cob before I let �bad reviews� get to me. I discount �I don�t like it� reviews because there is no inherent reasoning or logic behind them. Note to most: Learn how to review and argue intelligently. You should never say a fucking word without the ammo to back that shit up.

This �looking for affirmation� Dr. Phil-typed shit I was doing, that wasn�t what The Setting Son was ever meant to be. It wasn�t Son Shade. This was never about �asking opinions.� It was only meant to be an exercise in Journal-styled writing, starring the best �non fiction-typed� character I know. Me. My take on life is stranger than fucking fiction, so I fucking wrote about it.

And got a lot of good feedback � and I found I liked, because I normally never read reviews or ask opinions. The feedback early on was when shit started getting fucked around for me, I believe.

But I�ll go back a step further by saying that a lot of you assumed a helluvalot when it came to the ol� Son (as�ve been obvious in your notes and messages). Like the fact I�m an aspiring writer. Or that I�ve never been published. Or that I work in an �ad agency.� Or that I live in Vancouver. Or that I have legs, that I�m not a chick, that I�m in my 30�s, that I�m not in prison.

I�m not fucking sayin� I�m any of those or not�but right from the fucking giddy-up there�s been a constant theme, �don�t judge a fucking book by its cover.� Remember my 3-eyed Smiley Face tat? �Zacaly.

I�ll leave it up to you to decide the difference between fact and fiction. I�ll say, straight up that this journal became more personal than I�d anticipated, and that is another reason I�m closing up the store. �Cause caring what people think and letting people in on thoughts, on such a microscopic level, is never what I intended. It�s everything I�m not.

One thing�s for certain, I am a writer (and a Photoshop God, but how much of a living can be made in that, really?) and one thing holds true with all storytellers is the ancient maxim, �All writers are liars.� Go back and look. Switch nouns with other nouns, read the subtext. Who I am is in there, hidden in those things I did.

None of this was ever supposed to be about you, the reader. I could have done this on a pad with a pen and it�d have done the trick.

That being said, I enjoyed and appreciated nearly every piece of feedback and any correspondence that�d been prompted by something I�d said. I liked the fact people read my shit, although I really didn�t need the proof.

So that�s that. I�m splitting because The Setting Son has become tedious. For the past month or so it�s become a chore and now that I know why, it�s time to cut the gangrenous limb off and let you carrion fowl have at it � time to refocus and meet impending deadlines (self imposed and otherwise).

I�m still gonna haunt my regulars, the handful of you who I�m fans of know already who you are. Keep it up. I look forward to more voyeuristic reading and vicarious living.

And I�m not gonna say I�ll never be dropping a note again. I�m off to Germany for several weeks in March and April, so I�m sure I�ll want to rub some of that shit in, fer sure.

So, with that I bid you adieu and goodbye.

Now fuck off.

There really is FUCK ALL more to see here, Assface.

The Son Has Set on ALL of You

02.02.03.10.04


Spit it OUT, Snapperhead!

6 of you fuckers have been accounted for.


old shit. - newer shit.


Y'can't Keep a Fringe Man Down. - 2005-08-03
So Long, Fucko's. - 2004-02-02
Feedback. - 2004-01-31
Chapter 1 - Clang-Bang - 2004-01-30
The Tattooed Infant - 2004-01-29

Free Counters

About Me: Read My Shit. read other DiaryLand diaries! You Think Other People Care? Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Proud Member of the Alliance

The Alliance



From The Truth Laid Bear's New Webblog Showcase:



The Setting Son>











Site Meter